top of page
The Bossa Nova Beatnik Show

The Bossa Nova Beatnik Show

  • In stock 
  • Ships with great care
  • Tracking emailed to you the second it ships



The Bossa Nova Beatniks are a Huntington, New York based genre-bending band who has just released their first ever vinyl LP.  It’s the original cast recording of the Bossa Nova Beatnik show recorded with no additional instruments capturing their live sound.

It features some of Long Island’s finest musicians including Chris James of the R&B band, the Hideaways on guitar, Sven Bilberrman on bass, Mike Staub and Amanda Mac of the rockin’ Long Island band, “Bad Mary,” on vocals, Bossa Nova Beatnik founder Tom Gould on acoustic guitar and vocals, and the man who saved Count Chocula, Pat Giles on drums.

The Bossa Nova Beatniks played their first gig at the Village Gate on Bleecker Street in Manhattan in the nineties and played for years in and around the tristate area at clubs including CBGB, The Bitter End, The Nightingale Bar and countless other clubs.

A few years ago, the members of the Bossa Nova Beatnik band became scattered around the world (Australia, London, California).  When Tom Gould got a call to play a sunset concert in the summer of 2019, there was just he and guitar player Chris James in the line-up.  Tom accepted the gig and then scrambled to put a band together to play the show.

Tom belonged to NYRMA (The New York Roots Music Association), which is a collective of Long Island musicians who get together to create entertaining theme shows.  Tom was able to assemble a dream team of musicians from the ranks of NYRMA. 

Something remarkable happened as the band began to practice together.  Every member of the band loved playing with the others.  Rehearsals were fun.

As Tom listened to recordings he made of rehearsals, and was struck by the sound these musicians made together.  Not only did they blend together perfectly, but they understood and interpreted Tom’s songs better than any line-up assembled to date.

Tom was so pleased with how the band played together that he needed to make a recording of this group.  We went into the studio right after the concert and recorded fourteen songs.  We wanted to capture the ‘live’ sound and excitement of the band, so no additional instruments were recorded.

The entire album is made by six people performing exactly as on stage.  Tom was so pleased with how the sessions turned out that he was inspired to commemorate this band by pressing the Bossa Nova Beatniks’ first ever vinyl LP.

Bossa Nova Beatnik links:

Here is some early feedback from around the world:

“Although it is not a strictly blues album, two of the songs "Baby What'd You Do" and "Zantee Misfits" keep the blues spirit and flavor. The other songs are seductive, magical, dynamic and appealing, with influences ranging from Lou Reed to Bob Dylan, The Fugs or even tropical music, although there are many more surprises listeners will gradually discover. GREAT.”  - Vicente Zumel - La Hora del Blues (Barcelona, Spain)

“The latest Bossa Nova Beatnik album is like a breath of fresh air in these troubled times! It’s extremely organic in its production which is another big plus in an era of over produced music tracks, the album with its light hearted feel and slight ‘tongue in cheek’ lyrics is very engaging and lifts the spirit, it reminds me of Mink DeVille with some Lou Reed overtones.” - Lucas Campbell – Rock of Ages Radio (Blackpool, England)

“The new songs that Tom Gould composes for his band still sound fresh and infectious.  Very enjoyable 'Party Time', something we can use all too well in these bleak corona times.” - Freddy Celis - Rootstime magazine (Belgium)

“Forever fresh”  - from “Lord Litter’s Magic Music Box International” radio show (Berlin, Germany)


On a warm July evening, the Bossa Nova Beatniks® played a show as part of the Sunset

Concert Series at Harborfront Park in Port Jefferson, New York.  This is the original cast

recording. The band is Pat Giles on Drums, Chris James on Guitar, Sven Bilberrman on Bass,

Mike Staub on Vocals, Amanda Mac on Vocals, and Tom Gould on Acoustic Guitar and Vocals.


  • Papa La Ska
  • Here for You
  • Bound
  • Baby, What’d You Do           
  • Red Red Johnny           
  • Remember the World

SIDE 2                       

  • Lighten Up
  • Deanne (Where Did You Go?)
  • Let Me Take You                
  • Zantee Misfits
  • Oh, Angelina

All songs written by Tom Gould

Produced by Tom Gould       ---         Mixed and Mastered by John Tabacco

Special thanks to Amy Tuttle for setting in motion the events that led to this album being made

and to Michael Rice, who was essential to this group of musicians coming together.

©℗Tom Gould - P.O. Box 419 Huntington, NY 11743

Photos by Tom Pfeifer, Ken Farrell, Nick Jiannaras, and Melissa Sharpe

Liner notes by Steve Matteo

Graphic design by Pat Giles

    bottom of page